My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
JD x500 starter started hanging a month or so ago but would release once it started. Now getting to where it won't hardly release - makes that awful dragging sound for a long few seconds after it starts. I'm assuming I'm going to have to replace it ASAP. I'm no mechanic, but can turn a wrench if necessary. Have changed a few starters on my old Ford 8N. Is this a do-it-yourself kind of job or do I just need to haul it to the JD place? Anybody got any guesstimates on cost? Thanks!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Is this a parts-swap kind of job or does it require serious dis-assembly/re-assembly work? Any special tools required? Thanks again.

·
Premium Member
1,026 Posts
just a socket set, an open ended wrench set, and an adjustable wrench. take a photo with your phone

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
It should be pretty self-explanatory as mentioned.

You may need to remove the hood to gain more access.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Okay, hopefully last question on this topic. JD dealer tells me they have a rebuilt one for about $250. (Think he said new was about $400.) I see DB Electrical on the Internet has a new one for about $70 w/free shipping. I'm guessing the $70 is made in China, but it has a 1-year warranty. Anybody have any experience with DB Electrical? Of course, I prefer US made, but sure is a very big price difference. I've put Chinese-made parts on my old Ford 8N (exhaust manifold and carburetor) without a problem.

·
Premium Member
1,026 Posts
just get the ebay one, you wont notice a functional difference and the starters only used for 5 seconds at most at a time on a good running engine

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
:ditto: 250 bucks for a rebuilt starter for an air-cooled V-twin is ridiculous. That's almost a third of the price of a new engine! Go with the aftermarket part.

·
Administrator
6,228 Posts