My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an old Snapper I picked up back in February. Replaced the blade, spark plug, and have a new air filter on the way.

When I am mowing my lawn and I stop the mower and turn it off. I can't get it to start back up. It cold starts on the first pull every time. Once the engine is warmed up it starts but it idles real low and rough and sometimes shuts off. If I let it sit for a while it starts right up again first pull.

My thoughts are this:

Old gas (michigan has alcohol in their gas)
gummed up carb
coil going bad
bad air gap on spark plug

I am not an expert in small engine repair, and any suggestions would great.

What weight oil do these engines take? I think an oil change is in order after I mow my lawn today.

·
Premium Member
5,898 Posts
If you can check for spark right when you are having your problem. If you still have a strong spark when the engine is still hot, I would think your coil is probably ok. Is the old air filter plugged up, or is it degrading? It could be starving for air. You could try (Just in a clean area on the concrete, DO NOT MOW) running it without the air cleaner for a bit to see if the engine does the same thing. You may consider rebuilding/cleaning the carb as you don't know how long it sat prior to you purchasing the mower. As far as the oil, I don't have the specifics but I would think you would be safe with 30W

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·