My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone, As the name says, I'm a consumer looking for pro results. I need a new walk behind for my small 1/3 acre lawn to replace my 10yr old Honda with engine issues (carb replaced twice:banghead:).

I want a mower that mulches very well for the summer and bags leaves well in the fall. I don't love fertilizer so mulching capability is very important. I also want a really nice finish. And to top it off, I want a fast mower (time isn't on my side usually). I want to stay between $500-600.

I've narrowed it down to the following list:

- Cub Cadet SC 500z: caster wheels, good price but how does it cut?

- Craftsman Pro 39970: caster, ball-bearing wheels, great engine, how does it cut?

- Toro Super Recycler 20381: super recycler cutting reputation but moderate engine and mixed reliability based on reviews and only OK bagging performance

- Honda HRR 216K9VYA: Honda cutting reputation with twin blades and blade break. Mix reviews on Honda engine reliability and I'm having the same problems.

Upgrades at $600 range:

- Honda HRx2175vka: cutting reputation with the versa mow system, ball bearing wheels and bigger engine, still concerned with reliability

- Masport M800St: UK brand in semi-pro arena. Found on mowers direct for $600. Big engine and seems like a good brand but almost no info out on it.

I want to like the Toro's and Honda's because of their cut reputation, but the reliability issues are something I have a hard time with.

The Craftsman is interesting and I'm actually leaning towards it. No reviews yet because its new, but the features list and engine is unmatched at $500. It's made by MTD and I think the deck and trans is the same as the cub cadet. Not sure how it cuts though. If I could only bolt some Honda micro cut blades to it, it'd be perfect...

WHICH WOULD YOU BUY FOR ~$500??

Thanks for reading.

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts