My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Premium Member
152 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a lazy researcher. There, I said it. Having said it I am asking you guys about either getting a Toro or Honda self propelled mower. I've heard there are good and bad models. Trouble is I am not positive it's true but what I did hear and read has an element of truth. I've heard that both names have had some fairly serious transmission problems. Are there "consumer" models and " pro" models in these brands? I like the idea ofHonda's two blades but do they work? Are they a pain? Will either of them do more than just cut grass? Are there other brands to consider?

·
Registered
2,092 Posts
Buy an Ariens..

They use a Friction drive transmission with no gears.. They never break.. The friction discs last decades before needing to be replaced..

I have owned one for about 2 years now and Love it.. It is the best machine I've ever owned..

It also mulches exceptionally well.. And It's cheaper than a good Honda or a Professional Toro..

-Stan

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
I agree with Capstan on the Ariens. They seem to be good, heavy mowers at a much lower price than a commercial Honda or Toro.

·
Premium Member
6,110 Posts
Honda and Toro mowers consistently rank in the Consumer Report's top five.

Both manufacturers offer consumer and commercial grade mowers. Commercial mowers will have commercial grade engines and their other features, such as wheel adjusters and handles, will be beefier in design than consumer grade mower, but all of that will come with a cost in overall weight and dollars, as the commercial models of either brand I've looked at tops the $1,000.00 mark.

What sort of features are you looking for in a mower? Do you want it to mulch, bag, discharge, or some combination of those options? Do you want a self propelled model or push? Steel, aluminum or composite deck material? I believe both manufactures offer a number of options in those areas.