My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
first post, so easy on the newbie

I have a timecutter 16-44 zero turn with a Briggs 16.5HP engine, a month ago coming around a turn I felt the engine struggling so I turned it off, and it wouldn't restart after that. Got a new battery and plug, then tried a number of diagnostics but still no luck. Brought in the pros, they towed it away and diagnosed the problem as a seized engine. Haul and diagnosis was $125, repair will be $1600. Old mower so $1600 is more than I will spend, also the hydros on the right side is starting to go. Everything else seems to work fine, my yard is about an acre so light work each year. Is this mower worth fixing on my own? I have limited experience with small engines, but my friends tell me it's not difficult to replace a mower engine.

I've spoken to Northern Tools and think they have some replacements for a few hundred dollars. I don't want to scour the classified for a used engine so new or refurbished would be my preference.

like I've said, I'm new to major mower repairs like this, so any recommendations would be appreciated, thanks all

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
Welcome! Great to have you at MLF!:howdy:
It's not hard to replace the engine on a mower. The most important factors are shaft size and mounting bolt configuration. I would recommend going with the same brand of engine to simplify wiring and setup.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Welcome! Great to have you at MLF!:howdy:
It's not hard to replace the engine on a mower. The most important factors are shaft size and mounting bolt configuration. I would recommend going with the same brand of engine to simplify wiring and setup.
Well yeah, Northern says that on the website. So, just buy from them, no other advice/help?

·
Registered
730 Posts
Quoted repair of $1600 sounds way too high...for a Briggs 16HP replacement...unless it's also covering the weak hydro..?