My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
Hey there! Glad to see that the brand spankin' new garden forum is getting some attention! :ThumbUp:

I'm no expert, but we grew tomatoes for a while. The key is to wait until it's nice and warm before planting them in some rich soil, and to carefully pick off suckers as they emerge from in between the branches and the main stem. This focuses all of the plant's energy into making nice, juicy tomatoes. Also, make sure to water the plants consistently to prevent blossom rot.

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
Well, traps work for raccoons anyway! ;) I remember when my mom tried to help the tomatoes grow by placing sardines around their roots. The next day, the raccoons had ripped them all up to get at the fish! :ROFL

·
Registered
686 Posts
I try to bring in a trailer load of compost and till it in before planting. I can't say my tomatoes were anything great but they grew well and tasted good.

Reactions: POWERSHIFT93

·
Registered
12 Posts
Over the last few years we have given up planting our garden in the ground. Where our garden was is in the shade too much now so a few sheets of durarock and a few 18 gal plastic tote bins made into self watering things filled with merical grow potting soil is all we do.

These are some peppers , but they work well with tomatos and other stuff as well .

·
Premium Member
33 Posts
My Italian friends from New Jersey shared with me their secret about growing lots of flavorful tomatoes. Mix 1/2 cup of Epsom salt with the soil for each plant. I used it and it seemed to improve the yield, not sure if it improved the flavor.

·
Banned
343 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
I am thinking about going the raised bed route. for the tomatos this year. and plant the iris's in a raised bed this fall after they have bloomed this year. well that is MY IDEA ON THAT 1. anyway.:idea::idea::idea::idea::idea::idea::idea::idea::idea::idea:

·
Registered
12 Posts