My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello fellow forum friends. This is a great forum and I'm glad I signed up. I look forward to reading more on the topics covered here as I'm a landscaper. I found you all by trying to find some advice on an issue I have and since my Googling didn't produce much helpful information, I hope some of you lawn lizards can.

My friend (no, seriously it really wasn't me) layed his Husqvarna YTH2042 riding mower on it's side, almost upside down to change the blades. It sat that way for a week till I figured I'd finish the project for him. I took the old blades off, put the new ones on and then uprighted it. At this point I noticed that there was oil coming from the air filter area and there was a big puddle on the garage floor. The oil gauge stick now reads well below minimum. Other than adding oil to the proper level, getting a new air filter and cleaning up what I can see, should I check or fix something behind the scenes that I'm unaware of. I haven't started it yet as I'm not sure if damage would occur by doing so. Do I need to remove the carburetor and clean it out (not sure how many pieces want to poke your eye out upon disassembling)? Disassemble the exhaust? Is there oil somewhere else that it shouldn't be and now posing a potential problem upon restarting? I'm fairly mechanical and have some tools so I should be able to handle most things with some guidance. I hope it's as simple as just cleaning things up, adding oil and changing the filter though I won't be surprised if I need specialty tools and a month of weekends to fix her up. Is it that simple and the rest will clear itslef up after running and smoking a bit? The grass is long and winter is approaching here in New England.