My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
1,329 Posts
Today,1-30-13, I am starting the rebuild on a REO mower that a friend gave me approx. 2 years ago.It has been setting out in the weeds for years before I got it. When i seen it I wanted it , even if it would never run again. My Dad had at least one gas powered reel mower that I can remember.
This is my first time to do anything to a reel mower, so it will be a challenge for me.
I will ofcourse get on the internet searching for info and schematics.
I have numbers and what I think it is at this point.
1953 REO
model# WE21
serial# 14502
Carb Carter model N
built by RedMotors inc. lawnmower division
Lansing MI.
starting with some pics of its present condition, and a pic of a nice one that I think shows the true colors of what mine should look like

Attachments

·
1,329 Posts
Well, Im already correcting myself. As it turns out this one is a 1951 REO Royale 21 inch cut
I have several items on it that need relpaced.
the wood rollers need to be bought or made for it.
I broke a small belt pully
The drive chain is broke, it was still on the sprockets, I believe it set so long that the chain rusted away on one link.
The head has stripped threads for the spark plug.
the engine has oil in it, the piston works up and down, the valves are working.
The main shaft in the reel is rusted to the point of no return , rusted nearly 1/4 thrue the shaft.
Need tires
The last pic is mower soaking in PB Blaster

Attachments

·
Premium Member
5,898 Posts
Off to a good start Doc! :cool
That's a nice red bench you have in the background, looks like a nice portable welding table.. :bag:

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
Very exciting project!! It is not often that you see a restored reel mower so I always applaud those who go the extra mile and actually restore one of them.

I am really looking forward to following the progress. Keep up the good work and ambition, it is going to look beautiful.

·
1,329 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·