My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, some of you may recall about a month ago or so I posted a thread in the Genera discussion forum asking for opinions on whether a garden tractor or ZTR for the sub $3k range.

I've decided on a zero turn and was about to pull the trigger on a Toro Timecutter SS4225 but then Hustler came up with their $200 off promo which put the Raptor at $100 above the Toro but now I get the fab deck.

It was delivered last Saturday but got to use it for the first time yeasterday. I really like the mower and the Kawasaki sounds great, driving it wasn't as difficult as i thought and was able to mow with straight lines as i get used to it.

Alas, I do have a question since I have no experience with these machines and I want to get the best life out of it:

What is the best way to drive these with the EZT (2200) trans? I've read that the EZT's don't have relief valves and am concerned that driving it like the pros do making zero radius turns may cause early failure with the repetitive reversing in the turns.

For the most part I went in circles like a tractor and then did the 180's at the center, it took less than 1/2 hour to mow (almost the whole yard) and when I was done I noticed the EZT's were very warm, hot enough to be uncomfortable to touch after about 5 seconds. the ambient temp was about 60 deg F and my yard is mostly flat with a slight incline about maybe a foot or two in 30 feet of distance.

To put this in perspective my Cub tractor with the famous K46 trans only would get fairly warm at this temp but not that you couldn't put your hand on it for 10 seconds or more.

Perhaps the nature of the EZT's make them run warmer or maybe some driving tips from experienced users would help.

Thanks

·
Administrator
6,296 Posts
Congratulations on the new mower! :tango_face_smile: