My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I am looking at an older simplicity for sale. Its a regent with the 16hp kohler and 44" cut. The guy is asking $550. Seemingly in good shape. Am I asking for trouble looking at mowers this old? What should I look at on it? It seems nice and sturdy.

I currently have an very old white 38" mower. I have had it 3 seasons and keep piecing it together to keep it going though I am no mechanic. Its getting old.. We have about 3/4 of acre to cut, mostly flat.

I am having trouble finding something used. Everybody around here wants $1000 for a 7 year old craftsman and I dont have $1000 or more for new mower.

Thanks, Bill

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
Hi Bill,

As long as the unit is in good shape, has been treated well and maintained regularly, there is no reason to shy away from a vintage machine.

Things to look, ask, listen for and keep in mind:

-Look for welds

-Condition of paint and body- This can an give a good indication of how the machine was valued by its owner(s).

-Has it been stored inside or inside?

-Any rust?

-How does the engine sound? Does it smoke, tick, or knock? How does the oil look? Any leakes that you can tell?

-Check the wiring. What is the condition? Any splices, corrosion etc?

-Listen to the mowing deck. Do the bearings sound OK? With the machine off, check for play in the pulleys. Check the belt wear.

-How Does the PTO engage?

-How do the brakes work?

-Ask as much as you can about the maintenance history. How often was it serviced?

-How was the tractor used? Have him show you the areas where he used it.

The real key in my opinion is that a vintage machine can be more work to maintain in the long run vs. a newer unit, but as long as it has been properly treated and had regular maintenance performed, there is no reason not to go with it if you can appreciate using a machine of yesteryear.

·
Premium Member
6,109 Posts