My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Mainly I just want to reseal this 11hp Briggs and Stratton engine on this Snapper Comet 26 that I just got. What does it take to get this engine fully apart where you can replace all the seals and gaskets that come in the factory gasket kit? How hard is it to remove the engine from the rear engine rider Snapper? I'm wondering what's involved with getting the crank pulley off so you can pull the engine out? I just want to get all the external engine covers blasted and painted because they're all rusty. I see oil all over the engine. So I want to do a reseal on it. The engine actually runs good and doesn't smoke. What kind of special mower specific tools are needed to do this? I've removed and rebuilt the 400 in my Dodge Charger and it does run, so I have some knowledge of doing engine, just never tackled a lawn mower engine.

·
Premium Member
6,109 Posts
If you've done an engine in an automobile, then the Briggs would be a piece of cake. First place to start is to get a shop manual that covers that engine.

·
Administrator
7,693 Posts
:ditto: Replacing the gaskets in a lawn mower engine is no big deal. If you have the model/type/code number, it's easy to find the right manual.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I got the information. It's a model 252707, type 020801, code 82062911. I downloaded the parts list and owner's guide from Briggs and Stratton but where do I download the repair manual? They told me it was built on June 29, 1982.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·