My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I've just acquired a JD 170 riding mower. Despite its age, it looks in very good condition apart from a couple of tears in the seat.

I'd like to get a manual for it but there is no sign of the S/N anywhere on the mower. I have looked all over the chassis, under the seat, you name it!!!
The Deere Bookstore lists 2 manuals depending on the S/N, so my question is:

Is there a huge difference between the JD 170s? I really just want a basic user's manual - what each switch does etc. so could I just get either of the 2 manuals?

Manuals:

OMM 78999 for S/Ns 595001-750000, 595001-

OR

OMM 95262 for S/Ns 010001-100000, 010001-420000

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, but please be gentle as I'm not technically au fait with garden machinery!!

Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,015 Posts
Welcome! The JD you have is a sturdy ok machine. The serial # should be on left side of chassis. Might be gone. Getting manual online is not likely as JD keeps them from free downloads. They don't allow that. Not sure of difference of serial number breaks for buying physical copy.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
bwdbrn1 - no that's not the one. You're looking at the LT170, mine is plain old 170.

I have no problem paying for the manual which is around $25 from the Deere Bookstore but I don't want to end up getting the wrong one. It also seems that these manuals aren't downloadable so postage will need to be added and that would make it more expensive. Hence the need to get it right first time.

I've attached a photo (nicked from the internet) to give you an idea.

Attachments

·
Premium Member
6,109 Posts