My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. This problem is killing me. I'm a mechanic by trade (industrial equipment) but this has me stumped. It starts up fine, runs fine, but as soon as it either runs for about 10 seconds or I open the choke it dies.

I first drained all the gas and replaced it with new gas. Then I replaced the fuel filter and fuel pump. Then I replaced the spark plugs. Then I replaced the fuel filter and pump again with real John Deere brand since I got the first ones from Amazon.

Nothing has worked at all. No improvement or change in symptoms.

Any help would be incredibly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
162 Posts
A couple of wild guesses. I keep an old push mower fuel tank with 3 ft of fuel line that I attach directly to the carb. That isolates any problem with the pump, filter, fuel line or rear tank blockage. Second, make sure the fuel solenoid is working. Third, put 2 in line spark testers on to see if some electrical problem is killing the spark. Not necessarily in that order.
Cannon

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you Cannon. Those are some excellent suggestions. I especially like the first, as troubleshooting is something I'm fairly good at with electrical or logic circuits, and that is a great troubleshooting technique. I love it. I'm going to try all your suggestions today and I'll let you know if I have any luck.
Thanks again.

·
Registered
1953 Lawn Boy, 2008 Craftsman Pro, 1991 JD 260 GT
32 Posts
Hi all. This problem is killing me. I'm a mechanic by trade (industrial equipment) but this has me stumped. It starts up fine, runs fine, but as soon as it either runs for about 10 seconds or I open the choke it dies.