My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
53 year old from middle tn. I own 3 acres, only mow about 1 - 1/2 of that. Had a John Deere Sabre with a Kohler engine for the last 12 years or so. Decided it was time for a new mower (toy) and just bought a Gravely ZT 50. Yea, yea, I know many say to spend the extra and get a XL, but an extra 800-900 is quite a bit for a mower for me. I figure if my sabre lasted this long (it still works), the ZT should do just fine, especially as I am embarrassed to admit it, but I took horrible care of my Sabre.
Biggie for me will I really hope I will be able to "drive" it ok. I am a disabled vet, my spine is totally fused and I have 2 fake hips (one is due for replacement again) so I am about the least mobile guy you will meet. I know just sitting on my new gravely, it isn't nearly as easy to get on and off since I don;t have the steering wheel to grab a hold of.
I did just add the flextender arm rests and am putting on the mulch kit right now.
Basically thought it was time for a new toy. I do know I plan on taking much better care of this mower.

·
Premium Member
5,898 Posts
:welcome: Glad you joined the forum Don and thank you for your service. :ThumbUp:
12 years still sounds pretty good for a mower you neglected a bit. ;) You'll be happy with a Zero and save a lot of time mowing. We look forward to hearing from you and your opinions of your new mower.

·
Premium Member
1,136 Posts
:welcome: to the forum, Don :howdy:

Glad you joined us and hope you enjoy your visits here.

I can, to a lessor degree, share in your pain with a bad back and a rough ride. Must be something we veterans share.

·
Premium Member
6,109 Posts
:welcome: to the forum Don. Looking forward to hearing more from you. What are your plans for the Sabre now that you've got yourself a new toy?

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
Welcome to MLF, Don! :)

Thank you for the nice introduction.