My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought a Gravely Model L, Mod #M 99911, I can not get it to start. Firing OK with no attempt to kick back.
I have cleaned the carb but being one of those (Zenith Bendix with the horizonal float)
I do not know what the setting is on the main jet at bottom.
It acts like it is flooding.
Thanks for any Help
To see a Gravely model L at work go to youtube and type the name (Gravely Model L )in the search window

·
Premium Member
5,898 Posts
I'm kind of new to the Gravely thing myself, as I have recently acquired 3 with multiple attachments and another "L" a couple weeks ago (Don't tell anyone here or they'll want pictures ;) ). Here is a link to a service manual for the "L"
http://gravelytractorclub.org/images/PDFs/manuals/walk-behind/model-l/Servicing_Model_L_Engine.pdf

If you poke around there, you'll find they have all kinds of manuals for the Gravelys as well to include manuals for the carbs.
When you get a chance post a couple pics of yours if you don't mind. :)

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Gravely Won't start

I have found the problem,just waiting on part to get here. The main fuel jet is missing from My carburetor. I found one at Parts for Aluminum Zenith Carburetors.
This place has every thing looks like. I will try a couple pictures. All I have is the Bush Hog hooked up & the turning plow.
Randleman N.C. is a little country town where every one wants a garden & all the men that plowed for people have mostly died or quit plowing for the public.
So if I get set up & running I hope to plow some & be a witness for the LORD.

Attachments

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
Interesting that it was missing and good detective work. It sounds like whoever had it before was cleaning or rebuilding it and forgot to reinstall it.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I got the part Today. Lord willing Gravely will Start in the Morning.