My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Due to 20 years of use but only 760 hours of run time I found the mower deck was showing its age. The front wheels on the ZTR mower deck needed replacing. They were foam filled from the start but deteriorated and flopped around like two flat tires. So, I bought two replacement wheels with foam filled tires for $120. When I installed the new, correct size and specification diameter tires and rims the tires rubbed the mower deck. (expletives deleted) I studied the problem and there is no adjustment to pull the "wheel lift assembly" forward because slop had developed in the linkages and floating mounting locations. Geeze, what to do. After taking it all apart and looking at all the component the solution is simple if you have the tools and talent to execute the fabrication or modification to the Deck fork. I needed to reduce the caster angle (backward rake) that's built into the Deck fork. So, I decided to give each fork a "wedgie" cut.

I modified the fork using a power hacksaw to cut out a wedge shape on each side and drove it nearly closed to provide more clearance. There is a optimum amount of material to be cut out of the fork. Too much moves the wheel and tire too close to the bottom of deck fork. It requires a "just right" amount of modification.

BELOW IS THE BEFORE PICTURE

BELOW IS THE POST MODIFICATION OF THE FORK (but now yet welded)

LAYING OUT THE CUT AND ONE SIDE CUT (Dead blow hammer in background)

FINAL POSITION THAT PROVIDES NO RUBBING AGAINST MOWER DECK AND NO RUBBING AGAINST BOTTOM OF FORK (not shown)

FINAL POSITION which also requires grinding down some protrusions in the bottom of the fork (not shown)

Next step is to do the same on the right side, weld, paint and reassemble. Then on to the camshaft replacement.

Bill

·
Administrator
7,359 Posts
Nice work! It seems like a design that should have come from the factory.

·
Registered
79 Posts