My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been doing bartering around my area and today someone offered me a Cub Cadet ads2160 48" deck mower for a laptop of mine. The mower needs a new battery and the carburetor needs to be rebuilt according to the owner and he doesn't know how many hours on the motor. I am not really a mechanic of any kind, but I have tools and can probably figure it out. I also do not have a means to haul and store a tractor. Those things can be borrowed. The laptop essentially cost me $95 cause of trading, it's worth about $200 and I have $200 in other stuff I have received as well.

One thing that has me hesitating is the fact that the mower is red. I looked all over the internet and could not find a red mower of this model. Can you guys help me decide if this is worth investing the time and $$ into? I suppose I could just sell it as a fixer too for maybe $300 or something. The owner said that a carb would cost about $70 and a battery $30. I am just not sure what I could expect to get for it if I fix it.

Attachments

·
Registered
507 Posts
Its definitely been painted...not well either. However, aesthetics usually don't affect operation. The carb might just need to be cleaned. I'd probably ask around $550-600 running and operating perfectly maybe with a quick white and yellow paint job.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
how much would you estimate it would cost to fix it and paint it. Assuming all that is needed is the carb and battery?

He said it runs if you pour gas into the carb...

·
Registered
147 Posts
Take apart and clean the carb first. You can use the cans of carb cleaner, but make sure to wear safety glasses. Put it back on and your problem may be solved. If not, you may have to buy the carb kit and it runs about $75-80. At the very LEAST, buy new mounting gasket and the gasket between the two halves of the carb body. They are only about $10 total.