My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi everyone,
I'm new to this form so please go easy on me :)
I got an old "Murray" lawn tractor that was sitting outside for 3 years for free as a project. the engine looks perfect and has great compression. it has an electric start and the solenoid doesn't click at all.. so after ages of looking for all the safety switches (break, disengage blades, sit on seat) it still doesn't work... so I went to jump the terminals but they where rusty and it was in a tight spot so i took the starter wire off the terminal and put it straight to the battery terminal on the solenoid. there was sparks, a click and a hmmmm but no starting. then a little bit of what can only be described as smoke from the battery which got me worried. any ideas what could be wrong?
and its a hydrostatic automatic so it cant be push/tow started.
any advice will be worshipped

·
Administrator
6,228 Posts
Welcome irishlad! :)

Sounds like maybe the rain from setting outside killed both the solenoid and the starter. I assume you must be able to turn the engine by hand since you verified compression. So that leads me to think the starter has seized up. You might with a little luck be able to remove the starter and get it freed up and working provided there are no actual internal electrical shorts. One place to take a look for reference if you have not done so already is this page a B&S.

Electrical Schematic/Wiring Diagrams | Frequently Asked Questions | Customer Support | Briggs & Stratton

There are links to places on their webisite using model, type, and serial numbers you can pull up servicing manuals for the engine. This link found there shows the basic diagram of how the starting circuit works:

http://www.briggsandstratton.com/engines/support/frequently-asked-questions/Electrical%20schematic-wiring%20diagrams/~/media/B19B3742DFDA4270B639EEA3818B7018.ashx

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·