My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Guys,
Yogi here. I'm new to MLMF so I'll start with my dumb question.
What is the purpose of the Brake Safety Switch (BSS) on my JD 102? I assume it would be to prevent lurching during starting if you don't have clutch, brake pushed in? Ole Yogi was mowing yesterday and after shutting engine off it would not start. I located a broken purple wire that was still connected to the one of the two small posts of a four post Starter Solenoid. Yog assumes the broken end of the long purple wire goes up under to the BSS. Thinking about by-passing BSS by hot wiring it. Thanks for any advice.

·
Premium Member
9,016 Posts
Wrong place to ask this question. Against rules to defeat safeties.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
1,596 Posts
Unfortunately it's not good to ever by-pass any SAFETY switch.. Hence the name. Normally they were put there for a good reason and it should stay that way.... Stay Safe! Happy mowing! :)

Reactions: keakar

·
Registered
587 Posts
Hi Guys,
Yogi here. I'm new to MLMF so I'll start with my dumb question.
What is the purpose of the Brake Safety Switch (BSS) on my JD 102? I assume it would be to prevent lurching during starting if you don't have clutch, brake pushed in? Ole Yogi was mowing yesterday and after shutting engine off it would not start. I located a broken purple wire that was still connected to the one of the two small posts of a four post Starter Solenoid. Yog assumes the broken end of the long purple wire goes up under to the BSS. Thinking about by-passing BSS by hot wiring it. Thanks for any advice.
DO NOT BYPASS IT EVER. if I recall correctly the brake switch has two circuits, one is the grounded kill switch and the other is to only send power to the ignition switch for starting if the pedal is pressed. the purpose for the brake kill switch is to prevent the mower from starting and running you over if its in gear.