My Lawnmower Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and a novice at this sort of thing. I've had the worst luck with mowers. I had a push mower that caught on fire and died in the front yard. My brother-in-law gave me this riding mower (which is now like a 5th hand mower). I've used it for three seasons now but this year it's giving me trouble. It has a Briggs and Stratton 287707-1255-E1 engine that is puffing white smoke. I changed the oil twice (because after running for a little bit the oil turns black and burnt). I cleaned the whole engine area I could get to. I changed the spark plug, new battery, blades, and things that spin the blades. It was making a tapping sound and I ran Seafoam through it and after smoking the neighborhood out it sounds much better. It did spew oil and/or gas out the exhaust for awhile but seems to have stopped now. Now it puffs white smoke for a few seconds, stops for a few seconds, continues. It smells burnt (almost kinda sweet burnt) and seems to get really hot. When I started it last it started right up and began its smoking pattern but when I took the brake off and tried to accelerate it wouldn't go. I had to fiddle with it a bit. I mowed the backyard to see if it would quit smoking (burn the rest of the seafoam out?) but when I turned the mower deck off the whole thing shut down. I know there is a crack in the exhaust but that has never affected it before. It also seems to not have as much power as usual when going. Any advice as to how to fix this, or should I just be looking for a new used mower? :^:

·
Premium Member
9,015 Posts
Welcome first off. Does the oil smell of gas? Might be carb issue. Possible blown head gasket too.

·
Registered
730 Posts