Is this even possible? (re:front wheel) - Lawn Mower Forums : Lawnmower Reviews, Repair, Pricing and Discussion Forum
General Lawnmower Repair Have a question not brand-specific? Ask it here. Changing oil, sharpening a blade, changing a spark plug? Ask your questions here!

3Likes
  • 1 Post By Mark / Ohio
  • 2 Post By mschumpert

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 04:13 PM Thread Starter

Is this even possible? (re:front wheel)

I noticed my front wheel was a bit wobbly today. i hadn't noticed it before, and I've been mowing every week for a couple months now.

I started looking into it, and could immediately tell something was missing. Further examination revealed the bushings were completely gone. My first thought was, did someone sneak into our barn and steal them? lt didn't look like it, but an even closer look showed some signs of wear that maybe there had been a problem prior and I didn't notice it.

I had replaced the tire 3-4 years ago and the tread is still pretty decent. I'm not a lawnmower guy, and I can't remember the bushings coming with the tire, but can't see myself putting a tire on totally wobbly without them.

But here's the thing, there is NO evidence of any bushing whatsoever. I saw some videos of bushings pretty worn out, but is it possible for a bushing to completely disintegrate leaving nothing behind? I just don't know how I could have been riding on a wobbly wheel with no bushings all these years.

Moving on, is this the part I need to get?
https://www.tractorsupply.com/tsc/pr...ring-532009040
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 05:39 PM Thread Starter

Also, if I wanted to replace the wheel completely, is this a good option?

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Arnold-15-i...-Mower/1268975

Where the axle goes is considerably different than what I have now, but I can't find anything else that looks the same...

thanks!
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-15-2020, 07:22 PM

Quote: