Honda mower stalls under load - Lawn Mower Forums : Lawnmower Reviews, Repair, Pricing and Discussion Forum
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 12:44 PM Thread Starter

Honda mower stalls under load

I have an old Honda Harmony hrm215 lawn mower. I've been using it for the past ten years or so. It's always worked ok but struggled with the grass if it was too long or too wet which is to be expected I guess. This summer it's been struggling more than I remember it used to. I took the carb off on the weekend and cleaned it up. The outside was pretty dirty but the inside was very clean. It starts up super easy now, it would usually take 2-3 pulls to get it to start. The throttle cable won't stay in place so the choke doesn't fully close, if it would stay in place it would start first pull still. But now, even if the choke isn't fully closed it starts effortlessly on the first pull. I cut my grass yesterday and it wasn't overly long and it was bone dry. Under those conditions the lawn mower shouldn't have had any trouble at all but it stalled a few times while cutting some of the taller grass. When I say taller grass it was not tall enough that there should have been trouble.
My logic tells me that the carb needs adjusting or maybe the lawn mower has just ran its course as I think it's at least 20 years old. I don't know how long a typical lawn mower is expected to last. I have always done yearly oil changes and taken good care of it.
Does this sound like something that can be fixed by adjusting the carb? If so any tips on how to do that?
Or does this sound like it might be something else entirely?

Thanks to anyone who helps out
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 02:37 PM

Welcome to MLF Jumbo. Did you remove and disassemble the carb when you cleaned it? There are numerous small holes inside the carb that HAVE to be clean for the engine to run correctly.