HRX217 timing belt issues - Lawn Mower Forums : Lawnmower Reviews, Repair, Pricing and Discussion Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017, 06:37 AM Thread Starter

HRX217 timing belt issues

I have been using hrx lawn mowers for most of 10 years now, no serious issues, normal maintenance. I run them to 6-700 hours and sell them and replace. Last fall when preparing my mower for storage, oil change and cleanup, I hit an issue. After finishing up I decided to stat the engine one last time. Engine started for maybe 2 seconds then I could not restart. Checked everything I could think of and found nothing. So I take it to the dealer. Im told the timing belt needs to be replaced.... at a cost of +$350. estimated. Wow this engine has only 140 hours on it. (I put hour meters on all my gear) This is virtually a new mower. I have yet to get the mower back so Im not sure of the exact cost of this repair. Is anyone else having trouble with honda timing belts? I really like honda mowers on my 6th HRX but this may move me to change over to another brand.

Prime Care lawn & yard
honda hrx217 x 2
Toro 22156
Toro Titan ZX 5420
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-03-2017, 01:49 PM Thread Starter

Apparently timing belt is not a common problem...

Prime Care lawn & yard
honda hrx217 x 2
Toro 22156
Toro Titan ZX 5420
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-05-2017, 01:55 AM
Administrator

Garage
My boss had to have a timing belt put on his Honda mower couple years ago but it had more hours then that on it I think.

Mark - 2002 John Deere LT150H

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-05-2017, 04:17 AM
Administrator

Thanked 1,345 Times in 1,050 Posts
I will let @[email protected] chime in on this but it's definitely not a common problem. As I understand, these belts are pretty much made to run the life of the machine.