Ground Clearance - Lawn Mower Forums : Lawnmower Reviews, Repair, Pricing and Discussion Forum
Lawn Mower Main Forum This is the main MyLawnMower Forum discussion forum. Here you can discuss the latest lawnmowers, and other lawn care machinery.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-02-2020, 09:41 PM Thread Starter

Ground Clearance

I am new to riding mowers. I currently mow two different areas; about one acre near my house and about two acres in a field a couple hundred yards away. I am cutting wild grasses and all kinds of foliage that grows there (cow parsnip, wild roses, nettles, etc.) I am now using a Swisher 48" tow behind brush cutter. It does a good enough job for me, as I don't manicure and neatly edge; I just keep it down. The problem I am having is making all those wide turns pulling it with an ATV. I was going to buy a 54" zero turn, but the problem is ground clearance. There are places where I don't know if I can clear the ground when transitioning from level to hill to level with the deck so close to the ground, even with the blades not turning.
I thought I might get a regular riding mower instead, but they don't seem to offer any more clearance.

Does anyone have any recommendation as to what would give me more clearance?

Why in heck can't they make these things so the deck will raise higher for transport??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 12:47 AM
Administrator

Garage
Welcome to the forum!

I don't know how much money is in your budget but maybe a larger tractor with a finish or brush mower mounted on a 3 point hitch at the back would be your better option? With the hitch mount you can then raise it up higher.

Mark - 2002 John Deere LT150H

post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-07-2020, 10:01 PM Thread Starter